Go Ahead, Give Your Toddler A Kitchen Knife : The Salt : NPR

My 3-year-old son has an inexplicable fondness for the whisk. And we are pros, my son and I, at making blueberry and chocolate muffins and spooning out cookie batter. But when it comes to leafy greens or butternut squash, my son gets bored. He starts whining or throwing things or yelling at his baby sister. That’s because he’s not allowed to use a knife. And without having helped prepare them, he’s not so inclined to eat those beautiful vegetables either. Many agree with my general stance that equipping a child with a knife to help out in the kitchen sounds like a recipe for wounds and lost appendages. Both my mother and mother-in-law recoiled when I suggested letting my son try his hand at chopping. Yet research, and the experience of educators, suggest that parents such as me would be wise to hand a tot a knife.

Source: Go Ahead, Give Your Toddler A Kitchen Knife : The Salt : NPR

please share your thoughts!